Consider Yourself Assigned

To Detox or Not to Detox ? That Is the Question

It’s at least a month I want to go on my bi-annual detox (I’ve already missed the Fall one), but instead I go for the chocolate bar or the cookie jar. Spring is particularly suited for detox and I might miss the propitious season for it with my procrastination. Why can’t I follow through this time, though I used to be so steadfast with detox before? At the beginning, I thought it was because I was too rigid with this process: all or nothing type of thinking. But it seems to be the contrary that is actually at play, I reckon. Maybe I don’t want to be rigid anymore with this or with anything else for that matter. Maybe I am more respectful of my rhythm and other’s and I am rebelling against the health and wellness fanatic in me? I even stopped lecturing my daughter and husband on what to eat and why. I forget to take my supplements. My husband told me recently that I am more fun to be around [thanks Jon] and my daughter gives me more cuddles.

Integrating Materialist/Physical and Transpersonal/Energetic Worldviews

Still, I don’t want to go from health and wellness freak to emotional eater and vice versa. There must be a better dynamic.
First of all, I told myself that there doesn’t need to be any detox this year. This might quiet resistance to detox. Otherwise, no big deal. When I am ready, I’ll know what to do. And something really wonderful happened. Eureka! : the nurturing part in me immediately forgave me for my hating myself for not walking the talk, for my perceived lack of integrity or lack of self-compassion and thanked me for choosing to feed and satisfy the person I really wish myself to be instead. Time will tell if I can strike a balance thanks to the new attitude I’ve recently adopted.

Second, I know I am onto a personal r-evolution and expanding my understanding of health and wellness, started nearly 4 years ago. I somewhat liken this process and consider it as a continuation of my exploration of myself and the “worlds” in which I participate (the transpersonal), started some 20 years ago. Sadly, my naturopathic studies have been too heavily restricted to the physical-matter realm, though my exploration of the transpersonal-energy realm used to expand my view of reality prior to undertaking these studies. A regression? The irony is that holism and integrative medicine was mentioned during my studies, but all the heavy science, dispensed by teachers unfamiliar with holistic studies, overshadowed what could not be quantified or grasped by science. I was gasping for air both literally and metaphorically. I am still in search of a new home integrating both worldviews.

I consider myself assigned.

Happy Heuristics

Today’s Fool’s Message

… Anything you do from the soulful self will help lighten the burdens of the world. Anything. You have no idea what the smallest word, the tiniest generosity can cause to be set in motion. Be outrageous in forgiving. Be dramatic in reconciling. Mistakes? Back up and make them as right as you can, then move on. Be off the charts in kindness. In whatever you are called to, strive to be devoted to it in all aspects large and small. Fall short? Try again. Mastery is made in increments, not in leaps. Be brave, be fierce, be visionary. Mend the parts of the world that are “within your reach.” To strive to live this way is the most dramatic gift you can ever give to the world.

Consider yourselves assigned.

~Clarissa Pinkola Estes

5 thoughts on “Consider Yourself Assigned

  1. Liked every line of this. Remember in Carl Sagan’s movie Contact where Jodie Foster, against the alien instructions, is belted into the “craft” being tossed violently around? She unstraps herself and Eureka! 😉 Everything becomes calm as it was intended. I thought of that. Good food for me this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

