Three reasons I like to read not-so-well-known blogs

Excellent post and this does not come from a fan of the blogging mutual admiration society. One reason I’ve identified why my blog is still confidential (beside reason 1) after 6+ months, is that I have “the bum between 2 chairs” as Voltaire would put it: promoting my coaching, exploring and experimenting with my new “niche” with the metaphor/archetype of Icarus :coaching young (less young?) passionate souls (the artist for ex) in a dispassionate (as over pragmatic) professional climate. So the need to be, look, feel pro on the one hand. On the other hand, I enjoy genuinely connecting through blogging and sometimes it’s not so pro…carnivalesque even, with the breaking of boundaries (fool archetype) this mode of interaction sometimes entails: oops! But I don’t think I would have learned so much about the people I am interested to coach without taking this risk. Electronic words stay, be careful of reputation, I hear from colleagues: Diderot’s prudent ‘esprit de l’escalier”, for another reason of not being so well known does take over at times. A pity. I’m not the type to live a double life separating the pro from the casual, even though some limits in the right place are warranted, I admit. Does such a blog semi-pro, semi-blogging has a chance? We’ll see. For the meantime, I am still enjoying the experiment.
Michal at Happy Heuristics!

bottledworder

Full many a gem of purest ray serene
The dark unfathomed caves of ocean bear:
Full many a flower is born to blush unseen,
And waste its sweetness on the desert air. (from “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard” by Thomas Gray)

There are certainly many excellent established blogs out there. I love to read them. But I also like to scour the blogopsphere for hidden gems.

View original post 376 more words

2 thoughts on “Three reasons I like to read not-so-well-known blogs

  1. A good article, and I appreciate your comments. My own blog may fit that experimental mold, and the mistakes I have made, recorded, accepted and let lay have firmed me up in some welcome way. So I understand concerns about reputation, for example, as I have sat there, teeth clenched, waiting for the rejection from everybody to show itself. But wouldn’t you know it, fools and jesters are forgiven, as well as bloggers.

    Thanks Michal for the reblog of the article, and your thoughts. Always appreciated.
    Jim

    • Thanks Jim. I know what you mean about “sitting there teeth clenched, waiting for the rejection from everybody to show itself.” Blogging can be an exercise in rejection and artists need that type of ex-ducation, to be immune to it. And you are an artist: it is expected of artists to jest, make a fool of themselves or even go nuts for all to see, Dionysian…though it’s serious play for them. As for “The coach”, a new kind of sage, s/he is supposed to be a model for “the good life”, all in ‘retenue’ in the sense of master over her emotions, always in control: Apollonian, and, I’m afraid, somewhat conservative, serving the pragmatic ethos, filling the void of a godless era. Where’s the empathy, I wonder sometimes? Maybe I should have written this blog anonymously after all. I don’t know. Too late anyway 😉 I am for a dialectic between the Apollonian and the Dionysian : very uncomfortable at times . But artists have their discomforts too and that’s the type of client I seem to attract. Maybe you’ll be interested to read an article I’ve ‘chanced or providence upon’ recently: http://www.murray-gordon-consulting.com/The_(Im)Possibility_Of_Empathy.htm

      Take care,

      Michal

Leave a Reply

