What’s in a Birthday: Reflections

human protect and give loveGive Your Birthday a Chance

This morning my husband told me that my birthday is 10 days overdue, my Hebrew birthday, that is.

My birthday, according to the Gregorian calendar, however, falls this coming week-end. I have 2 birthday dates, and yet, I don’t give a fig for birthdays. Is it because I am sick of helping my daughter write these, once funny, birthday cards to her friends, like: I wish you lots of flowers, sweeties and that you succeed in your studies (cynic me); is it because I shun a commercial practice that will drain resources I could allot to spiritual endeavors (stingy or self-righteous or plain phony me); or is it the more banal fear of growing old (vain me)? It’s not the first time I ask myself these questions but so far no hiddush [novel idea], except that I notice how disagreeable I can sound. Time for a change. And a birthday, like New Year’s celebrations, secular or religious, is at least a sacred time to reflect on the year that’s gone and project oneself into the coming year. I used to smirk at people who celebrate half birthdays; this year, I choose to give my own birthday a chance.

What’s in a Name?

cauldronWhat’s in a birthday? By a strange attractor turn of chance or providence, this question has become for me this year: what’s in a name, in this instance, the name I was given at birth? Yes, my name, Michal. How I used to loath this name! In France, it was never Michal pronounced with the [x ]sound but Miral, Mikral, Mishal. Not their fault, I know, but who was that? It always took me a while to realize that someone was addressing me. It did not sound right. How strange to feel a stranger in your own land, especially when you lived in France for some 20 years! My sisters all had European names, though they were also born in Israel. What’s gotten into my mother to give me a Hebrew name? As the story goes, in the maternity ward, she met a university lecturer, who was having her first child at 40, advising her [ I am her second] on the odious name; and impressionable maman, with all due respect, could not see passed the end of her nose, like moving back to France some 4 years later, sealing my fate. I am only glad to have escaped the bible humanist tell my mother to call me Zerubbabella, adding an “a” at the end as mark of the feminine or Methuselah [I know:  men’s name but the fashion now in Israel is to give names of flowers to boys and virile names (of veg?) to girls interchangeably;… so, in the 70s?], or any other cheesy name. The bright side of life, hey!

It is as a pre-adolescent, as I was presenting myself to my new class, first day after moving from suburb to Paris during mid-term, that Mr Gaston, our math teacher, christened me Miral: “we are in France here” and dare you pronounce it Mi[x]al! Can shame explain average results in math, when I used to be first at it before? I don’t know. What is sure is that by that time, I was ready to take any old fashioned name, Hugette, Arlette, Desiree, Oh oui, Odette, like Proust’s duplicitous female hero. In Israel, new immigrants who have a European, non-Israeli sounding name are advised, though less nowadays, to change their first or/and last name upon arrival, for integration purposes. Why didn’t maman change my first name when we got back to France?

It is only during Gorbachev’s Perestroika that I, somewhat, reconciled with my name, glasnost oblige.  Mikhail, I’ll be forever indebted to you and your parents for calling you Mikhail. However, after getting married and years of childlessness, the biblical name, Michal, came full blast to mind with its limiting connotations: some lessons to be learnt…and learnt.

So What’s in a Name?

So what’s in a name?… Love, my mother’s love (and father’s, a typical  enneagram 8, who followed suit this once), who had for me the brightest of futures in mind as a free woman, educated, independent master of her own destiny, like the university lecturer was; what maman could never fathom for herself then and hardly can still today. Hiddush. It is only at 42 that I get it. What’s in a name? : the pride of a mother, her generosity and expansiveness, the assurance and conviction that I haven’t been a disappointment to her, in spite of my frequent disappointments in myself.

So What’s in a Birthday?

I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become.”

C.G. Jung

wellThis year: a tribute to my mother and an occasion for renewal.

Michal, in Hebrew, means container/vessel, or close. What is a container?: a receptacle, of a certain capacity, for goods, sustenance, resources. It is receptive (kabbalah), a servant, in service. The root of this name in Hebrew exhausts the semantic field of nourishment (content).

From cupped hands, through a cauldron, to a well, available resources can be used at will, provided they haven’t been depleted or ignored and given the time to replenish. The letter mem, at the beginning of ‘Michal’, grammatically in Hebrew, is the mark of process, of becoming. Thanks to this dialectic between the old and the new, fate and destiny, container/content, myth/rite, I am consciously and fondly looking forward to my unfolding this coming year. Happy birthday to me. Happy birthday to my mother-in-law today, happy birthday to my brother, tomorrow.

hexagram_well_48

Blessingly yours,

Michal

Happy Heuristics

Today’s Fool’s Message

The Vitality of Myth

He said myths and mythology wasn’t to give meaning to life but to give us an experience of life, an experience of vitality in being alive. ~Joseph Campbell

Myths are public dreams; dreams are private myths. By finding your own dream and following it through, it will lead you to the myth-world in which you live. But just as in dream, the subject and object, though they seem to be separate, are really the same. ~Joseph Campbell

4 thoughts on “What’s in a Birthday: Reflections

  1. Happy belated Birthday!
    I am Polish and we have the name Michał in Polish, pronounced mixau, of course it is masculine. I love etymology so I read yours with interest.

    • Thank you! Yes, I know. I always have to make a disclaimer: I am female, when I write on the blogosphere. The etymology is a personal myth for rewriting my story in a more liberating, expansive and life affirming manner than interpreted previously: a heuristics. You may want to make further inquiry into it, if you’re really interested to do so. Thanks again.

  2. “Jack? . . . No, there is very little music in the name Jack, if any at all, indeed. It does not thrill. It produces absolutely no vibrations . . . I have known several Jacks, and they all, without exception, were more than usually plain. Besides, Jack is a notorious domesticity for John! And I pity any woman who is married to a man called Jonathan. She would probably never be allowed to know the entrancing pleasure of a single moment’s solitude. The only really safe name is Michal.”
    ― With apologies to Oscar Wilde, The Importance of Being Earnest

    • So sweet!

      “-But you don’t really mean to say that you couldn’t love me if my name wasn’t Earnest?

      -But your name is Earnest.

      -Yes, I know it is. But supposing it was something else? …

      -Ah! That is clearly a metaphysical speculation, and like most metaphysical speculations has very little reference at all to the actual facts or real life, as we know them.”

      Oscar Wilde, The importance of Being Earnest

      Thank you, Jon, man of few words but many riddles.

Leave a Reply

