Hide and Seek at Rosh Hanikra

 Dolce Far Niente or …

My idea of a holiday is far niente, dolce far niente, to my husband’s dismay. Not even reading. And I have an outstanding talent at doing nothing without any feeling of guilt. What are they all running around trying to make the most of their time and money? Why wasting my special talent by picnicking with the flies and other bugs, eating these soggy sandwiches, crunchy with sand, and other junk foods, to wait in line at least 20 minutes for a 20 minutes touristic circuit that took at least 4 times that much to get to, to top it all: in summer desert temperatures. I know, I am lucky enough to live in a beautiful and bountiful touristic area: beaches, restaurants, cultural and natural touristic sites and events, some of the most prized maximum 1-2 hours away in every direction (Israel is a tiny country), enough, though, to make you busy for 10 years, as my husband pointed out looking at a guide just on Israel’s waterfalls, I offered him for his birthday. I know that we’ve never really taken advantage of these … since we know our luck, 5 years now. Jon doesn’t only want a guide with the nice pictures for his birthday, he wants the real thing.

I love caves

Our first trip was to Rosh Hanikra, at the Israel-Lebanon border. I was a bit nervous because it reminded me of the trips my father used to drive us to, when I was too young to have a say on what I’d rather do during my holidays: FAR NIENTE, already. To be honest: interspersed with going to the beach 5 min away and playing with my friends and cousins. My father meant well, he loves this country and he wanted to share his love, except that in those days for a spoiled Parisian like me, it did not mean much. Waking up at the crack of dawn (from Rishon Le Zion) in an overcrowded badly ventilated car and all the other disadvantages I enumerated above, was a real drag for me.  I love caves and water and at least it will be cool down there. So the Grottoes of Rosh Hanikra it was for our first trip.

As I observed my daughter’s wondrous look  and mouse-like squeaks marveling at the beauties of the site, I felt emotional contagion rushing through me echoing the whooshes and swooshes battering the rock. It’s as if I were recapturing feelings of glee I don’t even remember having ever experienced during this type of outing before. “déjà vu”?funky_wave_1 I went as far as playing hide and seek in the overcrowded grottoes with my daughter and reluctant husband, the old cry of the stomach. I did the circuit twice and a half something before heeding this cry: once in the gregarious herd direction, and the other, in the opposite direction of the traffic, some wandering (an interlude on the beach between the 2), happily photographing whoever would hand me their camera and would not budge to let me take my own pictures without them in my camera lens. It turned out to be more creative and fun than expected: I took pictures of the grottoes  walls … for a change. Dotty Dot_Rosh Hanikra

 

 

 

 

The leaflet was advertising Rosh Hanikra: A Love Story Between the Sea and the Mountain: the walls told me some different story (coming soon One Adventure of a Red Dotty Dot)

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can find some nice videos on Youtube, at different seasons, where you can appreciate this touristic site and love story.

 

Rosh Ha Nikra (English)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfsdfcjQyfQ

ROSH HANIKRA CAVES ISRAEL.avi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMtOsYmwqYQ

ROSH HANIKRA – ISRAEL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eSPFMLxd_gU

Today’s Fool’s Message

Remember that you are only one of the zillions of tourists visiting in this world.

One thought on “Hide and Seek at Rosh Hanikra

Leave a Reply

